Under Armour is copping heat for this ad...

And Canva's Cringe Mountain

Hey Climbers. This week —

  • ✨ How to push through the cringe of rejection

  • ⛰️ A guarantee from me to you

  • 🤔 And why is sportswear brand Under Armour in big trouble with creatives?

Canva’s Cringe Mountain

You’re not getting rejected, the way you’re communicating is.

You know what feels cringe?

getting rejected.

You know what feels feels even more cringe?

Getting rejected 100 times.

Melanie Perkins, the founder of one of the world’s most valuable tech companies Canva was rejected 100 times before managing to secure an investor.

Can you imagine being told “no”, to your face, 100 times?

Most people wouldn’t make it.

They’d give up at 10.

Now the company is worth $26 billion.

So what keeps someone trying through all that rejection?

Melanie said in an interview, she puts it down to one thing:

Having a clear vision of the future.

Take yourself out of the picture for a second. Ask yourself, “what would I like the world to look like in 10 years time?”

If you’re sure that what you’re trying to build is in line with the world you want created, then why wouldn’t you be able to keep going?

Once you have that clarity and belief, you realise its not the idea that is wrong - it’s the way that you’re communicating the idea that’s wrong.

Oh, ok - People just aren’t getting it!

That feels way less personal, right?

And actionable.

Then you can pivot, adapt, try again.

Even through rejection.

You’re one decision away from confidence & clarity

Did you know it took me 5 years to get clear & confident enough in what I offer as a creator to start making content?

I’d sit there wondering why it seemed so simple and easy for everyone else.

Why did it just click for them? Why couldn’t it just click for me?

I’d get stuck on every little thing.

Overthink. Overwhelm. Overcomplicate.

But unlike me, you now have the code to unlock it for yourself (way faster than I did).

I built Cringe Mountain Academy to save you from the 5 years of doubt, struggle and confusion it took me.

So when I get messages like this from Cringe Mountain Academy students, I know I’ve succeeded.

Cringe Mountain Academy is about more than going viral and growing your platform - it’s about building confidence, clarity and showing up fearlessly and consistently as YOU.

The platform growth that my students enjoy is just an added bonus.

However, I’m so confident you’ll grow your platform by the end of the 90 days that I’ll do you a deal.

If you do every step in Cringe Mountain Academy and still don’t grow by the end of the program, I’ll give you a full refund. No questions asked.

I still have a few spots open and I’m looking for my next best case study.

So if you’ve been dreaming of doing something big for yourself, what do you have to lose?

Heads up - there is an application process. This is a creative system I don’t give out to just anyone.

Creative inspo (/tea) of the week

There is some TEA going on in the world of creative advertising this week.

Sports brand Under Armour just released a new commercial.

The thing is?

It’s made entirely of AI visuals with an AI voiceover, using remixed footage from a previous commercial.

People are pissed off at the ad’s direcor, Wes Walker. Why?

  1. He used a previous director’s footage and did not credit him, or even let him know he was using it. (He found out through Instagram)

  1. People are saying Wes Walker ‘betrayed’ all creatives for making an ad for Under Armour without insisting they employ a team of creatives to film it, VO it, design it etc. and pay them appropriately.

The question is: can we really blame the director for taking this job? It’s hard out there for creatives in film. Or does Wes Walker have a moral responsibility to his fellow creatives to not let AI take money from their pockets?

Shouldn’t we be angry at Under Armour, for not valuing the work of creatives enough to pay for it?

Hit reply and let me know your thoughts…

Until next time!

Keepin Climbin’

Eri out xx