Can creators still live in the moment?

on enjoying life when making content

Hey Climbers, today —

  • The 40 year evolution of an iconic piece of art

  • Does being a creator stop you from living in the moment?

  • A creative ad selling an electric car without a single word

CRINGE MOUNTAIN
Hokusai’s Great Wave

You’ll be familiar with this iconic piece of art by Katsushika Hokusai. He did it when he was 72:

But what you’re probably less familiar with are the earliest iterations of this work - that he started when he was 33.

The first time you do the thing, it doesn’t have to be incredible.

Hey, It doesn’t even have to be good.

In 40 years, nobody will remember where you started.

Upload that video. Write that song. Begin that project.

Because you can’t get to final iteration without the first iteration.

Do it for 72 year-old you.

CREATOR TIP OF THE WEEK
Can you still be present as a content creator?

Do you kinda resent being a content creator sometimes?

I know I used to. I’d be watching a beautiful sunset, with this voice in the back of my head:

Well don’t just stand there, get your phone out! Capture, damnit - CAPTURE!

It’d really piss me off.

I wanted to be present in these beautiful moments; soak up the colours & sounds, savour the warmth of my partner’s arm around me. Not thinking how I could turn them into clever little pieces of content.

I know I’m not alone in this, because my clients say the same thing to me all the time.

So how did I learn to enjoy the moment, without feeling guilty for not capturing it as content?

The difference between documenting and creating

In my opinion, there are two types of content creation: documenting, and creating.

Documenting is when we take people into the moment with us; we show them what we’re doing and feeling as we’re doing and feeling it. (We show them the sunset)

Creating is when we actively set aside time in our calendar to engage in the intentional work of creating content.

I found that when I switched my content strategy to creating rather than documenting, I felt way happier & more present - and my content actually performed better.

So what does it take to do this?

It takes designing your content creation system in a way that works for you by separating it into three phases: Seed, Grow, Harvest.

By separating your process into three phases, and consistently showing up to focus on them, you’re not relying on documenting to fill your content.

You can relax into the moment, knowing you’ve got it covered through creating.

If you want to know more about the Seed, Grow, Harvest system, it’s something I teach creators in Cringe Mountain Academy. I’ve seen it transform the way many people approach content so they can have more fun, feel more productive and be way more present in the moments that matter.

Hit the button below to apply for Cringe Mountain Academy if you’d like to learn more about it.

CREATIVE INSPO OF THE WEEK
Mini Cooper nailed it with these ads

How do you sell an electric car?

Mini Cooper nailed it with these clever, simple pieces playing with the shadows of powerlines to make a really clear point.

As a copywriter, is it bad to say that I love it when ads don’t need words?

Ok that’s all for now,

Til next time,

Keep Climbin’

Erica x

P.S - If you could share this newsletter with two friends, I’d be forever grateful. My dream is to have 20,000 climbers in this community by the end of the year, and the more you share it, the more people we can inspire to create without fear of judgement. Thank you a million.