• Cringe Mountain
  • Posts
  • A conversation with a guy in my DMs about art & self promotion

A conversation with a guy in my DMs about art & self promotion

Do you agree with him?

Hey Climbers, today, a bit of different format —

  • A conversation with a guy in my DMs about art, truth, and self promotion

  • And a very cool free visual tool

An argument about art, truth & self promotion

Last week, an aspiring musician slid into my DMs asking for advice on how to promote his song on social media. As a former musician myself, I wanted to see if I could help!! This is how the conversation went.

Him: I’m a musician and I’ve been trying to prepare content to promote my upcoming song but it just feels exhausting, so would love any tiny advice, tip or idea you might have for me 💁‍♂️

Me: I hear you! But it definitely sounds like you’re on the right track. My main piece of advice would be to think of how you can pull people into listening to your song by making a video they find really valuable and enjoyable to watch.

Him: You see, I keep hearing these talks about bringing in the “value” and all. But I’m yet to see an example of someone who’s doing it right. It seems like two separate jobs: do something to gain eyeballs and then try to sell them your music. Because music itself seems to not be worth much anymore.

Idk I wish I had boobs or at least a six pack.

What do you mean by value tho? Everyone seems to be talking about it as if it was obvious.

Me: I mean entertainment value! Emotional value! Just like in your music. How can you get people to want to watch your video if they don’t know you or your song? When someone doesn’t know your music yet, there often needs to be something intriguing on top of it they can grab onto. A story. Some context. A lyric.

(Then I sent him this example, this and this)

Him: Yeah. But honestly I cringe when I make those kinds of videos.

Art is about being truthful, and trying to catch attention is direct opposite.

Me: Yes! But unfortunately being a ‘profitable’ musician (if that is what you want) also requires marketing yourself.

Him: I feel like here’s the disconnect. Why should we have to bring the art down to algorithms and entertainment value?

Of course I’ll participate. But I really think it’s degrading. And using the word “value” is straying people away from who they are.

Me: I think maybe that is where we differ. I see content as another opportunity to be an artist.

Video is an art form.

Art brings value.

Our guy has a point: Why should he have to?

Oh man, I get it.

I absolutely see it his point of view.

Artists have spent their entire lives mastering their craft.

If it were any other profession, the time spent developing their expertise would justify an income in itself. Right?

But we live in a society that severely undervalues and under-supports art and artists.

That shit is unfair.

But another way to look at it is this:

It’s also a really exciting time.

Traditional gatekeepers of the creative industries are disappearing - and it’s because of social media.

Music labels don’t have the power they used to. Musicians can sell out entire shows without them.

Same with galleries. Painters can sell out entire lines from their living rooms.

And so on.

The truth is: you shouldn’t have to make content as an artist.

But you can choose to.

You can choose to view your content as an extension of your art.

Pour the same emotion and care into it.

Because if you believe in yourself, your message, wouldn’t you do anything to share it with people?

The world needs to do better at supporting artists, of all kinds.

The aim is to get to the point where you have someone to do your content for you, so you can focus on the art.

But in my opinion, it’s up to us to build it first, and then they will come.

I’d love to hear what you think? Hit reply, let me know.

CREATIVE INSPO OF THE WEEK
Create the perfect pallete

If you’re a visual person, you gotta know about Coolors. And it’s free!

I use it whenever I need visual inspo, or I’m designing something.

You can trial different colours together and pick pallets. Bookmark it!

CRINGE MOUNTAIN ACADEMY
Creative to creator in Cringe Mountain Academy

Cringe Mountain Academy is the 90 day program transforming creatives into confident creators with x-factor (without shaking ya ass, (unless you wanna))

This month, I’ve helped 5+ creators hone in on their passion, communicate it magnetically, and grow their platforms in alignment with their purpose. And I’m looking for my next best case study.

If you think you’ve got something, and you’re being called to follow it - hit the button below and let’s see if you’re a good fit.

Ok that’s all for now,

Til next time,

Keep Climbin’

Erica x