Why creative goals feel so hard

And did Nara Smith steal this from a smaller creator?

Hey Climbers, today —

  • Why creative goals can feel so hard

  • Nara Smith & Marc Jacobs in hot water for their collab

Thought of the week
A conversation with an aspiring creator

Why do so many of our creative goals feel so hard?

Writing a book, starting a podcast, posting content.

We often tell ourselves we don’t have time, the right space, the equipment, or enough know-how yet.

But if we look a little deeper, are these the real reasons?

I’ve had some version of the following conversation with countless creators over the past few months.

Them: I really want to make content I’m proud of, and build an audience, but I just can’t stay consistent.

Me: Ok, well what’s stopping you from posting regularly?

Them: I wanted to do up my room so my space looks aesthetic. AND I don’t have the right camera - the one I want is too expensive for me right now.

Me: Hm. I see what’s happening.

Them: what?

Me: you just listed a lot of frictions.

Them: What are frictions?

Me: they’re all the tiny things that we perceive to be standing between us and taking action towards our goal.

Them: Ok…

Me: But I suspect what’s really holding you back is the tensions.

Them: The what?

Me: The tensions. Under every friction is a tension - the more emotional reason we aren’t moving forward. The friction is usually a facade for something deeper.

Them: I don’t get it

Me: Well let’s take the new camera for example. You say you can’t start until you have a new camera. But can’t you just use your Iphone?

Them: I could, but then my videos won’t be that good. I want them to be really good.

Me: And so what if your videos aren’t that good?

Them: Well people I know from real life might see me posting online and judge me for trying to become a creator…

Me: Aha! so it’s not about the new camera then. Because movies are being made on Iphones these days. It’s about being afraid that people will judge you. And that’s why it feels so hard.

Them: Right…

Me: and how do you get over that fear?

Them: well I know that taking action builds confidence

Me: So you could….

(Both together): just start with an Iphone, build momentum, gain confidence, then get a camera later!!!

I have a theory that whether we know it or not, we all have frictions and tensions in our life. About anything and everything. If you think you might, do a friction audit. Ask yourself.

  1. what’s the friction?

  2. what’s the tension underlying that friction?

  3. what’s one tiny tangible step I can take in the next 5 minutes towards this?

Let me know how you go!

PSA
Ready to become an iconic creator?

This week I’m looking for 3 creators with over 1k+ followers who want to be leaders instead of followers, stand out instead of fit in and build a ride or die audience on socials. Apply for Cringe Mountain Academy below.

CREATIVI-TEA ☕
The big brands are stealing smaller creators’ ideas again!!

There’s some drama going down in the world of influencer marketing and idea copyright rn.

TLDR: Marc Jacobs dropped an ad with tradwife Nara Smith. In the video Nara is baking something doughy from scratch - as per. She puts it in the oven. When she takes it out, it has turned into a Marc Jacobs Bag.

But shortly after it was posted, a smaller creator named Mary Korlin Downs claimed she made the exact same video months ago, and accused Nara Smith of stealing the concept - frame for frame. I mean, watch it for yourself…

So the question is: when the culture of online spaces is so built on trends, riffing and remixing, can creators own the copyright to their ideas?

I think we’ll start to see these conversations more and more in the coming years.

Ok, that’s all for now

Until next time

Keep climbin’

Erica x