Is invisible friction robbing your progress?

This is the sneakiest thing, but here's how to spot it.

Hey Climbers. This week —

  • ⛰️ Death by a thousand frictions?

  • 🤔 And how a tiny beer brand with no budget leveraged a cultural moment to make global headlines.

Is friction robbing your progress?

Friction is anything that puts an obstacle between you and just posting the video or just taking action.

Let me give you some examples.

  1. A few years ago, I had an idea for a video. But I told myself the video needed really good audio. I said I’d film it when I got a better microphone. I never got a better microphone. So I never filmed the video.

  2. For a long time, I hated filming in front of my boyfriend. So when he was around (which was most of the time, because we live together) I never filmed.

  3. When I had an idea for a video, I’d write it down the first place I could find. A scrap of paper, a random one-off note in my notes app, a random document in my drive. So when it came time to record a video, I could never find the ideas. So I never filmed the video.

Do you see what I’m getting at?

Frictions are so, so sneaky.

Because they’re everywhere.

And they do feel like real reasons you can’t just do the damn thing.

They pile up in your mind.

Amalgamating into a nebulous fog that hangs over your head.

A fog of reasons you can’t.

But when you take a small step back, you realise that:

  1. Most of the time, frictions are not absolute obstacles.

  2. They can be solved by either lowering perfectionism or simplifying systems.

When I developed a Frictionless System, everything changed.

When I developed a system to spot frictions, identify their underlying tensions and then remove them, my life changed.

My audience grew. My confidence grew. I became irrefutable.

The trickiest trap of friction is that it stops us from taking action.

And taking action is the only way we can get to get to where we wanna go.

Calling out friction is a lifelong practice.

But once you start, you’ll realise how easily overcome most of it really is.

Get the Frictionless System in Cringe Mountain Academy

In Cringe Mountain Academy, you’ll get access my Frictionless System, and learn how to implement it for a creative process full of ease, flow and abundance.

In Cringe Mountain Academy, I help creators conquer their fear of being seen so they can build their iconic brand and impact millions with their voice on TikTok.

So if you know you have what it takes to reach millions with your message, click below to find out more.

Creative Inspo Of The Week

Tiny beer ad BRLO didn’t have a budget. It didn’t have an audience.

But what it did have was culture, and a sense of humour.

And those two things combined can get you very very far.

So it recreated that (~nummy~) Calvin Klein ad featuring Jeremy Allen White, but with a twist.

BRLO Beer

Ok, that’s all for now.

Until next time,

Keep climbin’!

Erica xo