Are people sick of you repeating yourself?

What it does for your personal brand

Hey Climbers, today —

  • First VS Recent

  • The art of repeating yourself

  • Your Brainstorm Buddy

QUESTION OF THE WEEK
The art of repeating yourself

Last week I got this email from a reader named Tegan:

“I would love to hear more about tactics to reuse content (or how to shoot content in a different way to use multiple ways) without feeling like I’m constantly repeating myself all the time. I do know people need to see something multiple times before they take action especially with the algorithms as they are!”

Great question. I have two points to make here.

Firstly: you should feel like you’re constantly repeating yourself.

When I worked in national radio as a presenter, I had this exact fear.

Part of the job was to promote things, over and over, for weeks, without sounding bored by it.

I had this feeling that any moment, the audience was gonna crack the shits with me. Surely, the next time I said it, I’d get an influx of angry texts telling me how SICK OF IT they were - or worse, they’d just switch off their radios.

I took this concern to my boss.

He told me: “Erica, by the time you’re tired of saying it, the first person is only really just hearing it.”

Since then I’ve realised how true this is.

People aren’t as involved with your content as you are. And they also aren’t as observant as you think they are.

Repeating yourself isn’t only great for saving time in your content - it’s how you build a personal brand.

The foundation of a personal brand is being known for something. And you can only be known for something through… drumroll… repetition.

Now, having said that, I am a big fan of keeping things creatively fresh, which brings me to…

Secondly: execute the same idea with multiple formats

I explained in this email the difference between an idea (or insight) and an execution.

And once you understand this, you can repeat the same idea and keep it fresh by changing the way you execute it.

Here are some examples of content formats for different executions:

1) Talking to camera
2) Voice over with b roll footage
3) Carousel post
4) Skit
5) Interview
6) Stitch a relevant video to inject your message
7) ‘newsjacking’ aka hijacking pop culture to inject your message

And many more…

Hit reply and tell me, is this making sense?

If you need help mastering idea vs execution, it’s something I take my clients through in my signature 90 day program Cringe Mountain Academy - and I have a few spots open this month.

If you wanna learn more, just hit the link below.

FIRST VS RECENT
Where you start isn’t where you have to stay

It’s that time of the month… where I remind you that everyone who is now good at something has had to climb Cringe Mountain to get there.

Ali Abdaal is a doctor, as well as one of the world’s most followed productivity experts. He gets hundreds of thousands of views on his videos and has nearly 10 million followers collectively.

Take a look at his most recent video, compared to his first video:

Recent:

(one of his) First:

This is also a reminder that whatever you start with isn’t what you’re stuck with. If you want to pivot, you always can. The important thing is that you just start.

CREATIVE INSPO OF THE WEEK
Your brainstorm buddy

It’s an all-in-one brainstorming & scheduling ideation system with over 100+ prompts for creators & business owners.

Just duplicate it and save it to your own Notion dashboard.

I hope this inspires you this week!

Ok that’s all for now,

Til next time,

Keep Climbin’

(And thank you - always - for reading)

Erica x