Steven Bartlett's Cringe Mountain

I was anxiously hovering over the 'post' button...

Hey Climbers. This week —

  • ⛰️ Steven Bartlett’s Cringe Mountain

  • 🤔 What shooting hoops can teach us about content creation

Steven Bartlett’s Cringe Mountain

Sometimes it’s easy to forget that at one point, the biggest names in the world were looking down at their phone, hovering anxiously over the ‘post’ button, scared as shit that they’d be judged by their friends online.

Seems crazy, right?

On this episode (1:27ish) of Steven Bartlett’s podcast Diary Of A CEO, Steven shares how his own fear of being perceived by his friends affected him - and how he nearly let it stop him becoming the world famous podcast host we know today. He said:

“The first time I posted an idea online, I felt that anxiety of… oh my god, my friends from school are gonna think I think I’m like Ghandi, or Nelson Mandela or something - because I’m sharing my ideas.

And the sheer fact that I’m sharing my ideas means that I think I’ve got good ideas, and I think I’m smart, and so the best thing to do is just not share the ideas so that my friends don’t judge me.

But for whatever reason, I persisted.

And I’m so glad I did - because it changed my life”.

So many of you reading this right now are in that exact moment. I see you!!!

You’ve got ideas. Skills. A point of view.

The value you have to share in your content would change your life - and the lives of others around the world.

But you’re stuck.

SO LISTEN!!

The one thing more disastrous to your growth than actually being cringe is letting the fear of being cringe stop you.

I promise.

A big week for Cringe Mountain Academy students

There’s been some big growth for CMA students in the last week.

  • One student grew 400 followers on TikTok

  • One grew her Instagram followers by 14%

But what’s more important than the growth of their audiences is the growth of themselves;

The clarity that comes from working through the phases of the 90 day Cringe Mountain program: the climber’s mindset, finding your sticky difference, defining your iconic content strategy and using viral techniques & the 30 day posting plan to build your community.

Here’s what one of my clients had to say:

I work with a lot of supports… from the gym, to my therapist, my creativity coach… I’ve done other programs before… And Erica’s shit is very good. Her balance and allegiance to a clearly well thought out system that she has actually practiced herself, and understanding meeting the client where they’re at… very good” 

Kevin - Executive coach 

Creative Inspo Of The Week

This ad from National Down Syndrom Society - Assume That I Can - ABSOLUTELY RULES.

If it doesn’t give you tingles I’ll buy you a beer

@ndssorg

Our negative assumptions about people with Down syndrome can lead us to treat them in such a way that these assumptions becomes reality. I... See more

And this Thread(s?) from IG expert Brock Johnson about basketball:

p.s Is anyone regularly on threads? Should I start one? Or is threads… deads?

Until next time!

Keepin Climbin’

Eri out xx