Is your worst quality... your biggest asset?

how to build a magnetic personal brand

Hey Climbers, today —

  • 🤔 Is your worst quality actually your biggest asset?

  • 💥 A personal branding masterclass

  • ⛰️ Make 2024 the year you find your thing

TIP OF THE WEEK
The worst thing about you: the strongest part of your personal brand

When I find a creator I really like, I greedily gobble up as much of their content as I possibly can.

This week, my victim has been designer & personal branding expert Chris Do.

And I’m particularly obsessed with his concept of a 2 word personal brand.

He says that without vulnerability, you don’t have a personal brand.

Which means actually, building a strong personal brand is about leaning into what makes you fallible. Fallible is relatable. Fallible is full of stories.

There are two steps to finding yours, so let’s work through the exercise together using me as an example.

Step 1. think of your shadow word AKA your worst quality

Mine would be:

Anxious, perfectionist, worrier

(TO NAME A FEW, BUT I WON’T BORE YOU ALRIGHT)

Step 2. apply a ‘transformer’ word

This is a word that reframes the negative word. It humanises it; makes it feel honest and meaningful.

  • Perfectionist becomes > recovering perfectionist

  • Anxious becomes > anxious optimist

  • Worrier > worrier princess (lil’ play on words, okaaaay!)

Some other great examples Chris gives:

  • Blunt Cheerleader

  • Empathic Bitch

  • Proud People Pleaser

It’s one of those concepts that’s so good that I really wish I came up with it.

I’m going to keep brainstorming mine because I’m not sure I’ve quite cracked it yet. But let me know which one you think works best, and also hit reply if you want help workshopping yours…

Let me know how you go.

WEEKLY REC
Go deep on personal brand

Obviously I’m gonna have to show you a Chris Do video. This is the one where I first discovered him. It’s long but it’s gooooooood!

CRINGE MOUNTAIN ACADEMY
Make 2024 the year you find your thing

Cringe Mountain Academy is the 90 day program helping creators get clear on what’s holding them back so they can grow their community confidently in alignment with what they actually love doing. For example:

  • Katharine went from an average of hundreds of video views to thousands+ and grew her business’s Instagram account by 37%

  • Amanda increased her engagement by 280%

  • Holly more than quadrupled her audience on TikTok and completely revolutionised her confidence on camera

If you want to make 2024 the year your content clicks into alignment, hit the button below to apply.

Ok that’s all for now,

Til next time,

Keep Climbin’

Erica xx